Chasing the fashion dragon

closet

I read this very interesting article on Fashionista this week about how the “It” or “must have” trends come and go so quickly they can become “ho hum” before you can take them out of the bag. When everybody has “it,” “it is no longer as desirable. We all want to stand out but we also want to fit in but you can’t do both (thank you Seth Godin).  Nobody wants to feel like they’re a victim, in particular a victim of fierce marketing strategies of the fashion industry. So how do you find that balance between looking like you are of this era and what does that have to do with organization?

Find your own style

Find what looks good on you and makes you feel your best. Get it altered if necessary to ensure it flatters your figure. All of this will save you time and money in the future. And it will keep your closets clutter free!

I literally just spent $231 getting clothes altered to fit me perfectly. These are items that I had purchased as long as ten years ago and had never quite fit right. I was on the fence as to whether I should just toss them and start over but I had invested the money already and really liked them. They were well made and worth the money to make work. It was a worthwhile investment because now it’s like I have 4 new skirts and a pair of pants because I rarely wore them before. That averages to $46.20 per item which isn’t cheap but it was certainly less expensive than buying new items of equal quality

Never in style, never out of style

Now, a lot of you, my young, hip nieces included, will probably argue that I look way lame and not cool (hopefully not ratchet ;-)) which may be 100% true. But what matters is that I like how I look and I think the clothes flatter me. I like wearing them, they go with a lot of other items in my closet, and they are a reflection of my style. Whatever my style is.

Just because it’s “in style” or the latest “It” bag, shoe, skirt length, etc. doesn’t mean it’s right for you. Don’t spend money on highly depreciable non-assets unless they suit YOU. Avoid having a closet full of clothes that you never wear, waste time trying on, and hopefully hanging back up. Invest in clothes that suit your personality, lifestyle, coloring, figure, and, most of all, that you like to wear!

If you’re not sure what’s in your closet, ask Neatsmart to help you sort through the clutter and get a closet that helps you save time, money, and your sanity.

Happy organizing!

Please enter comments and questions here.

