Thoughts on Financial Freedom

This is where Neatsmart stores extra change.

This is where Neatsmart stores extra change.

Financial Freedom is a topic that impacts all of us at some point in our lives. When I was in high school and college, working as a hostess, waitress, and bartender I was acutely aware of how much money I had at all times. Counting cash at the end of the shift awarded me such pleasure because I could immediately experience the rewards of my labor. Being the organized person that I am, I would line up my bills and change by denomination, count it, and put it in order either in my wallet or stash in my bookcase but you could probably have guessed that about me. 🙂

Granted there were a few times I gave incorrect change and walked with nothing but I still learned valuable lessons about how to handle money and its influence in your life. Even then, I would set aside a part of my loot for savings. I knew I would need that money at some point, like Miranda mentions in her blog, for gas, car repair, books, or something school related and summer was my prime money earning time. It was such a great lesson to me to not get too attached to having the cash today and focus on saving for something greater in the future. As nice as it would have been to blow it on some fun clothes and nights out, the habit of saving has served me well my entire life.

I still organize my wallet like I did then and encourage clients to keep theirs’ in order, too. Money is necessary in contemporary American society but it’s not everything. You can’t hug it or kiss and it certainly won’t love on you or offer you comfort like your spouse, family, or friends. Let it help you along the way but not be the center of your life.

Read Miranda’s blog here and get more wise advice on money, savings, and Financial Freedom.

Happy organizing!

 

Please enter comments and questions here.

