Fun Spring Organization Project

Spring is here officially although it doesn’t really feel like it. I love the fact that it is lighter later and the trees are starting to bloom but 50 degrees just doesn’t feel like spring to me. They are even talking about the possibility of snowflakes–brrr.

The start of Spring inspires me to think about change, renewal, growth, lighter colors, fewer sweaters, putting away coats, and of course my favorite topic:  organization. I recently took the opportunity to refresh my appearance by going to a local (gotta support local, people!) store, Woo Cosmetics to get my makeup done by a professional makeup artist. I don’t advise doing this on a monthly basis since it can get expensive but I think it is always worthwhile to invest in yourself. Ladies, you don’t want to be the person not only styling yourself like you did 20 years ago but you especially don’t want to be using the actual products that you purchased 20 years ago. Seriously. Even if you don’t buy everything that they suggest, it is worth your time and money to get an expert opinion and suggestions from someone who does this everyday and has a passion for it. Just like you take your car to a mechanic to have it repaired or you retain an attorney for legal advice, see a makeup artist for suggestions on how to look your best. The way you present yourself is how people will judge you and don’t you want to present the best possible image? I know I feel better knowing a few new techniques to try at home plus I got my questions answered by an expert. So having the right products and knowing the right techniques to use will save me time and money in the long run by not having to reinvent that wheel each day. Peace of mind is priceless.

Clean and organized makeup drawer makes mornings easier.

Clean and organized makeup drawer makes mornings easier.

Have you cleaned out your makeup drawer lately? Ever? Now is a perfect time to do just that and it usually doesn’t take that long. You can ask yourself the same questions you would about your clothes closet or pantry although I modified the list slightly for today’s discussion:

  1. Do I currently use or wear this?
  2. Does it enhance my appearance and make me feel my best?
  3. Is it broken and need to be replaced?
  4. Is it better for another season and need to be put away for now?

If you answered “no” to the first 2, throw it away. If you answered “yes” to number 3, throw it away after you replace it in case you need to take it to the store to replicate it. If you answered “yes” to number4, put it in the back of your drawer so it is not cluttering your immediate space.

While you’re decluttering this drawer, clean up your makeup brushes while your at it. If you can’t remember the last time you did this, it’s been too long.

Happy organizing!

Please enter comments and questions here.

