Enjoy the Fruits of Your Labor (Day Weekend)

Happy Labor Day weekend! I know we are all excited about a long weekend but I seriously had to research online to find out the origin of Labor Day to find out why we had Monday off. Here is the definition from the US Department of Labor website: Labor Day, the first Monday in September, is a creation of the labor movement and is dedicated to the social and economic achievements of American workers. It constitutes a yearly national tribute to the contributions workers have made to the strength, prosperity, and well-being of our country.  I personally find that definition a little weak so I am using this an an opportunity to come up with my own interpretation and invite you to join me in this expedition.

Have you ever noticed that you can get so much accomplished if you have a deadline (false or real) to work against? I don’t think I ever cleaned my room as kid more quickly than in the 5 minutes before I knew my mother was coming up to check. Oh, those dreaded footsteps on the stairs, counting down the seconds with each step for one more thing I could stash in a drawer, or more realistically, under the bed. Why didn’t I just, as my mother kindly suggested, just keep in clean in the first place so I wouldn’t have to rush around at the last minute? That is one of those questions I don’t think you answer until you are an adult and turn it around to your own children. Keeping things in order is something that does take skill that not everyone possesses naturally. I am also realizing the longer that I help organize clients, that there are more people that were never taught organization skills and even more importantly, how to not let clutter pile up in the first place. But we all know about those deadlines that keep us on our toes and cause us to run through the house like that tasmanian devil putting things in drawers that have been out for weeks and throwing away trash that has been sitting out by the trashcan for 2 days.

For Labor Day, I am having company for a short time and I find myself doing the exact things I write about now. Now is the time I finally get the guest room in order, the refrigerator cleaned out, and the patio swept. Why does it take these deadlines to get these things done? I know, priorities change and life happens but wouldn’t it all be easier if we didn’t have to run around at breakneck speed to get things in order for other people? Why don’t we do it for ourselves? Shouldn’t we labor to make our lives easier and not just to impress others?

I remember when I put my house on the market a few years ago and my real estate agent advised me to make a few changes in order to stage the home and increase its curb appeal. One of the things she suggested was to paint the exterior, which I had never really liked  the whole time I lived there. Although I grumbled about spending the money, the house really did look great afterwards and I wondered why I hadn’t done it sooner. I invested the money in the appearance of the house and I wasn’t even living there to enjoy it!

So on this lovely weekend with an extra day to honor those that have labored to help make this country great, take 5 minutes to go through your house and notice those little things that you’d want repaired, painted, organized, moved, etc. if company were coming or if you were about to put your house on the market. In those 5 minutes, you can make a list and at least start on making your home a reflection of you.  Enjoy your home today because you live in it today, not just tomorrow, or when the kids leave, or just when company comes.

I didn’t have a photo to go with this post so I’m using this one since it commemorates the start of college football season this weekend.

Happy Organizing!

Please enter comments and questions here.

